Gardnerville Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Offering Trusted Representation Since 1981
Domestic violence arrests are one of the most common criminal cases in the state of Nevada. These cases often arise out of 911 calls to local law enforcement who, when arriving on the scene, must make some kind of determination. Often their determinations are based on falsehoods, misleading or exaggerated accusations, and other questionable factors. These types of arrests often occur after domestic arguments related to divorce, separation, child custody, and other highly-emotional personal issues between the defendant and the alleged victim.
If you are facing a domestic violence charge, we strongly urge you to get in touch with our Gardnerville domestic violence defense attorney at the Law Office of Ronald F. Cauley, Inc. Ron Cauley has close to four decades of criminal defense experience, is deeply familiar with the local courts and court personnel, and is known for his strong stance in protecting the rights of the accused.
Arrested on a domestic violence charge? Call our offices at (775) 273-6111 to schedule a free initial consultation about your case.
What Is Considered Domestic Violence in Nevada?
According to Nevada state law, domestic violence consists of any type of aggressive act against a household member or other intimate partner.
Individuals who can be involved in domestic violence charges include:
- Spouses and ex-spouses
- Those who have a child in common
- Those who are related by blood or marriage
- Those who are cohabiting or have previously cohabited
- Present and former dating partners
- Children of any of the above or their legal guardians
Domestic violence can include such activities as assault, battery, sexual assault, false imprisonment, unlawfully entering the victim’s home, compelling the victim by force or threat of force to do something that person has a right to refuse doing, and harassment such as stalking, trespassing, destroying property, injuring or killing a pet, stealing, and other acts.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Nevada
Penalties for a first offense misdemeanor can include fines of $200 up to $1,000, 48 to 120 hours of community service, and counseling for six months up to a year. Jail time is rare but could be 48 hours up to six months. You may be subject to a restraining order that could prohibit any contact with the alleged victim and your family. A second offense within seven years, also charged as a misdemeanor, will result in harsher penalties, while a third offense will be charged as a felony, punishable by one to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Fight a conviction with proven and trusted legal help from the Law Office of Ronald F. Cauley, Inc. Call (775) 273-6111 or contact our office online for a free consultation with our Gardnerville domestic violence defense lawyer.
Track Record of Success
Decades of Experience
Former Judge & Prosecutor